google-site-verification: googlee16c7726ecc34510.html

Civil Service Commission

Civil Service Commission Logo


Click here for an application form.

Meets on the 2nd Tuesday of every month at 1 p.m. unless otherwise noted.
Meetings are held at the Aurora Municipal Center,
15151 E. Alameda Parkway in the Fitzsimons Room on the 3rd floor unless otherwise noted.
*Note: The Civil Service Commission will meet via teleconference until further notice. Please see the agenda for access details.
*Note: There will be a special Civil Service Commission meeting April 26 at 11:30 AM for two procedural items.


For the most current information regarding meeting dates and times, click on the Boards & Commissions Calendar button.          

Agenda Item Request Form


To provide the citizens of Aurora with the most qualified applicants for and promotion to, firefighter and police officer positions, irrespective of the applicant’s race, creed, color, gender, age, national origin, or religious or political opinions or affiliations. To inspire public confidence in the Civil Service System and to afford uniformed members an opportunity for employment and promotion within uniformed positions of the Fire and Police Departments.

Civil Service Commission Mission Statement

Civil Service Commission Rules & Regulations
Civil Service Rule Amendments

Public Safety Employment Information


Must be an Aurora resident and registered voter prior to appointment. Members cannot hold any other position in the City for which he/she receives per diem or salary, or be an appointed member of any other City Board or Commission.


Number of members: 5
Term: 3 years (only 3 consecutive terms)

Current Roster

Jim Weeks

Jim Weeks


A.J. McDonald
Vice Chair

Brooke Gabrielli

Brooke Gabrielli

Harold Johnson

Harold Johnson


Barbara Shannon-Banister, Ph.D.

City Staff Liaisons

Matt Cain - Administrator
Emily Shuman - Senior Test Analyst
Heather Dearman - Civil Service Analyst
Michelle Haines - Civil Service Analyst

Civil Service Background Investigation Team

Katie Arredondo - Background Investigator 303.739.7667
Deb Cramer - Background Investigator 303.739.8931
Thomas Cramer - Background Investigator 303.739.8931
Stacy DeShazer  - Background Investigator 303.739.7128
David Guscott  - Background Investigator 303.739.7481
Gary Hayes - Background Investigator 303-326-8466
Tonja Hayes - Lead Background Investigator 303.739.7429
Ashley Rathbun  - Background Investigator 303.739.7556
Gary Rogers  - Background Investigator 303.739.7666
Jennifer Sloan - Background Investigator 303.739.7609
Casey Williams - Background Investigator 303.739.7558


City of Aurora | All Rights Reserved | Powered by CivicLive | © 2021 Intrado Corporation.