google-site-verification: googlee16c7726ecc34510.html

Public Defender

Public Defender

Chief Public Defender: Douglas K. Wilson
Chief Deputy Public Defender: Elizabeth Cadiz
Chief Deputy Public Defender: Tasha Steward
Executive Specialist: Reyna Lopez

MISSION STATEMENT: Advocating. Protecting. Defending.

VISION STATEMENT:  Justice, Fairness & Compassion For All  

The Public Defender's Office is governed by the Public Defender Commission, which ensures that indigent clients are represented in accordance to its strict guidelines.

The municipal public defender commission through its ability to appoint and discharge the public defender and his or her assistants, shall ensure that indigent clients are represented independently of any political consideration or private interests, provide legal services to indigent persons accused of violation of municipal ordinances that are commensurate with those available to non indigents, and conduct the office in accordance with the Colorado Code of Professional Standards relating to the administration of criminal justice, the defense function.
A.M.C. section 50-166.

The Commission consists of four attorney and three citizen members.The current members of the Public Defender Commission are:

Tom Tobiassen, Citizen, Chair
Tom Ashburn, Citizen
Johanna Cartledge, Citizen
Frances Smylie Brown, Attorney
David Kaplan, Attorney

REGULAR MEETING TIME: The fourth Friday of each month: 12:15 p.m.
LOCATION: Public Defender’s Conference Room, Municipal Justice Center
14999 E. Alameda Parkway
Aurora, CO 80012

City of Aurora | All Rights Reserved | Powered by CivicLive | © 2021 Intrado Corporation.