CITIZENS' ADVISORY BUDGET COMMITTEE (CABC)

Meeting Minutes

Meeting Date: 12/3/2019 Time: 7:00PM Location: AMC Ponderosa Room Next Meeting: 1/7/2019 Time: 6:30PM Location: AMC Ponderosa Room

MISSION STATEMENT: The mission of the Citizens' Advisory Budget Committee (CABC) is to study all phases of the budget of the City of Aurora and to make recommendations to City Council in regard to any and all budget matters.

The CABC accomplishes the mission by examining and evaluating needs and priorities as they relate to the budget and by making recommendations for action to the City Council.

ATTENDANCE

Name		Name		Name		Name	
Sunny Banka	(P)	Michael Himawan	P	Jonathan Scott	P	COA Staff	
Andris Berzins	(P)	Gayle Jetchick	(P)	Don Seven	Е	Greg Hays	P
Jeff Brown	P	Janet Marlow	(P)	Craig Upston	P		
Melvin Bush	(P)	Brian Matise	P	Michael Westerberg	P		
Reno Carollo	P	Omar Montgomery	P	Leanne Wheeler	P	Public/Guests	
Vince Chowdury	P	David Patterson	P			Midori Clark	P
Curtis Gardner	R	George Peck	P				
Hashim Coates	P	David Rich	P				

Key: P=Present E=Excused A=Absent R=Resigned

HANDOUTS

CABC December Agenda (sent November 25, 2019 via email)
November 6, 2019 Meeting Minutes (sent November 4, 2019 via email)

MINUTES

1. Call to Order	Craig Upston (Interim Chair) called the meeting to order at 7:00pm.	
2. Roll Call/	Craig Upston alerted the committee that those whose appointee is no longer in office are	
Establishment of	welcome to stay at the meeting but are no longer "officially" a part of the committee.	
Quorum	They will not be able to vote during the meeting. Discussion took place, but it was	
	suggested that the committee discuss this issue after the guest presentation.	
	Roll call was taken by Jonathan Scott and a quorum was present.	

3. Approval of December Agenda	A motion to accept the Agenda for December 3, 2019 meeting was made by Hashim Coates and seconded by Jeff Brown. The motion was approved with some minor changes. These changes included a reordering of agenda items 7-10. The agenda would now be: 7. Open Comments, 8. Elections, 9. 2020 Planning, and 10. Meeting Adjourned.	Motion Carried Yes: Unanimous No: 0 Abstain: 0
4. Speaker / Presentation	Midori Clark (the new library and cultural services director) discussed libraries. Highlights include: Library services High involvement numbers High school programs Art in Public Places Aurora History Museum and Historic Preservation Questions were entertained, including: Synergy of city services — utilizing resources from different departments. Collaboration of city services	
5. Approval of November Minutes	Motion to accept the Minutes for November 6, 2019 meeting was made by Michael Westerberg and seconded by Omar Mongomery.	Motion Carried Yes: Unanimous No: 0 Abstain: 0
6. Icebreaker	The group was asked, "What is your favorite winter activity" Michael Himawan started, then the rest of the group shared.	
7. Budget Update	 Greg Hays updated the committee on the sales tax revenue. There was above-expected sales tax revenue in October (which continued a trend in Aurora). This is an anomaly ("island") in the metro area. Greg warned the committee to have guarded optimism, because a lot of this revenue is one-time payments. ("Like finding \$100 bill on the ground. Don't go buy a car and make car payments with it.") 	
8. Open Comments	Housekeeping: Craig Upston thanked the outgoing members of CABC and presented them with a certificate. He also gave them an opportunity to address the committee.	

8. Elections	time. Sunny Banka said that she appreciated her time on CABC and hopes to be reappointed to the committee soon. Janet Marlow shared that – although her time on the committee was short - she enjoyed the committee. Melvin Bush indicated that his time on CABC was not just an enjoyment, but an honor. He is looking forward to his time on the planning and zoning committee. Andris Berzins said he was honored to be on the committee. He learned a lot on the committee. Future 2020 Meeting Dates: Discussion took place regarding the meeting dates. It was agreed that meeting changes would be best pushed to the second Tuesday of the month, rather than a Wednesday night. Craig Upston entertained a motion to accept the proposed changes. Jeff Brown motioned, and Jonathan Scott seconded. The motion was carried unanimously. January 7 th (6:30pm) February 4 th (6:30pm) March 10 th (Wednesday: March 3 -Primary) April 7 th (6:30pm) May 5 th (6:30pm) July 7 th ? (To be determined: 2-day Budget Workshop) August 4 th (6:30pm) August 4 th (6:30pm) October 6th (6:30pm) October 6th (6:30pm) November 10 th (6:30pm) (Tuesday – November 3rd – Election Day) December 1st (AMC Lighting of the Lights) 7:00pm (after Tree Lighting)	Motion Carried Yes: Unanimous No: Abstain:
	(George Peck). The voting process ensued:	

Chair: Having only one nomination (Reno Carollo), George Peck entertained nominations from the floor. • Hashim Coates nominated Leanne Wheeler David Rich Nominated Jonathan (Jono) Scott • David Rich motioned that the nominations be closed and Hashim Coates seconded. • Reno Carollo – withdrew his nomination. Votes were cast, the committee counted, and George Peck announced that Leanne Wheeler was the new Chair. • David Rich motioned that the nominations be closed and Hashim Coates seconded. • Votes were cast, the committee counted, and George Peck announced that Leanne Wheeler was the new Chair. Vice Chair: Having no nominations, George Peck entertained nominations from the floor. David Rich nominated Jono Scott. Hashim Coates nominated Reno Carollo, who declined. Reno Carollo nominated Michael Westerberg. David Rich motioned that the nominations be closed and Hashim Coates seconded. • Votes were cast, the committee counted, and George Peck announced that Michael Westerberg was the new Vice-Chair. Secretary: Having no nominations, George Peck entertained nominations from the floor. • David Rich nominated Jono Scott Hashim Coates suggested that the committee vote by affirmation. Omar Montgomery seconded. Jono Scott was unanimously affirmed to the secretary position. 9. 2020 Planning • Leanne Wheeler led a discussion on building the 2020 subcommittee work off of the 2019 work.

	A motion was made by Hashim Coates (and seconded by Michael Westerberg) to extend the meeting five minutes.	Motion Carried Yes: 13 No: 1 Abstain: 0
10. Meeting Adjourned	 Motion to Adjourn was made by Omar Montgomery and seconded by Reno Carollo at 9:05pm. 	Motion Carried Yes: 14 No: 0 Abstain: 0

Leanne Wheeler, Chair

Johnathan Scott, Secretary

December 3, 2019
Date of Approval